Check if issue contains attachments when transition

Suzanne Cranfield May 17, 2023

I am setting up Issue Checklist Pro with my projects and while setting up the checklists I also want to automatically check if attachments have been saved in an issue when transitioning from one status to another? 

I want the transition to fail if attachments are not present in the ticket and the user to get a message so that they attach files. 

If that is possible I would also then like to check the filenames - I am expecting files to be attached that follow a certain naming convention so want to be able to search for certain text within the file name. I am thing some sort of look up table might work for this. 

I just dont know where to start. 
Had tried validation on the workflow but that did not work. 

Not sure if there is a way using automation. 

Bear in mind I am not a software developer... 

Thanks

Suzanne

1 answer

0 votes
Valerie Knapp
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 17, 2023

Hi @Suzanne Cranfield , thanks for your question.

You should be able to use a validator to prevent the transition if there is no attachment.

The validator I would use is this one -

image.png

It doesn't explicitly say you are checking for attachments but you will note in the field attachment is available in the options -

image.png

Here, you can also specify a message for when someone tries to execute this transition without an attachment.

image.png

You could also create a specific screen for this transition so that you generate a pop-up which shows more clearly what you need to do in order to complete the transition, but this solution should also work as you anyway get the feedback that the attachment is missing.