Cascading rules?

Brandon Lawler February 27, 2019

Hi guys,

I'm new to the plugin Jira Automation and I'm missing a tool that I feel should be here. I need to fire automation rules off of other rules, but not in response to any particular event that occurs in a field in the issue--I need the rules themselves be able to cascade off of each other. I'm looking for an action along the lines of "Fire another Jira Automation rule: _____". A single rule may need to do several of these in sequence. Is there a way I can do this?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Deleted user February 27, 2019

Hi Brandon,

Thanks for your question. Are you using Cloud or Server? It is not currently possible in Cloud but it is possible in Server.

Cheers,
Simeon [Automation for Jira]

Cloud. Oh well. :)

Deleted user February 27, 2019

Hi Brandon,

Sorry about that! We have an improvement open around this, https://codebarrel.atlassian.net/browse/AUT-534, however it may be some time before we get to it.

Cheers,

I found a workaround, and it works!

I created a new field I'm calling "Hidden Rule Trigger". My parent rule makes two edit actions at the same time, one to set the value to "TRIGGER_1" and another to set the value to "TRIGGER_2".

A second rule, listening for changes to this field, is fired twice. I have if-then statements watching for {{issue.hidden rule trigger}} = "TRIGGER_1" and another watching for {{issue.hidden rule trigger}} = "TRIGGER_2", and each firing of the listening rule delivered the action associated with the appropriate trigger.

As long as this field is hidden from all screens, fired with unique strings, this works exactly like rules cascading and firing each other arbitrarily.

Kirby Knight March 5, 2019

Hi @[deleted],

What are the steps to do this in Server? This is exactly what I'm looking to do, but I can't figure it out.