Can we install custom plugin to licensed jira?

NithinManmohan September 8, 2013

I am creating a jira plugin for displaying build log in jira. I have installed a licensed for the project i am working on. My question is, can a custom plugin be installed to a licensed jira? Please let me asap, thanks in advance..

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 8, 2013

Yes, you can install plugins in Jira.

However, some organisations that host Jira for people may not allow it. OnDemand is Atlassian's hosting service and they only allow a limited list of plugins to be installed. Other providers may vary.

NithinManmohan September 8, 2013

so u mean to say, it wont expose all of the modules required for me to develop the plugin? I am new to Jira, so i am just trying to understand.. So would have me prefer write a wrapper or a plugin in my case?

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 8, 2013

I'm sorry, I don't understand what you are asking here.

I think you need to separate the processes out. First, you asked about installing a plugin in a licenced Jira. The answer to if you can install it is in general, yes, but if you are using a hosting company to run your system, they might not allow it.