Can ScriptRunner custom post-function cause transition to fail?

C_ Derek Fields
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 9, 2021

I can't find an answer to this question in the Adaptavist documentation: I want my transition to fail if my custom post-function script fails. Is there a return code that will cause the transition to fail?

3 answers

0 votes
Matthew Stublefield
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 9, 2021

I'm not a groovy developer, so I can only think of an ugly way to do this... but maybe the ugly way would work, and I can't think of an alternative.

Have your transition with the post function actually be circular, so it points back to the same status.

Then, have a fast-track transition that executes after your circular one. The condition would be that the post function had to do whatever it did. If the post function failed, then the fast-track transition wouldn't execute.

The fast-track transition could also be setup with a condition so it's not visible to users and can only be executed through the automation.

Not knowing exactly what you're trying to accomplish with the post function, it's hard to know if the above would work, but this is one way you might be able to accomplish what you're trying to do.

C_ Derek Fields
Rising Star
Rising Star
July 12, 2021

This is an interesting idea and I will have to think about it a little more. Thanks for suggesting it.

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 9, 2021