Can I force all Cloud users to log out?

Esther Strom May 6, 2019

We recently went to managed accounts, and along with that, changed our email addresses (due to lack of availability of the domain we wanted to verify.)

The new addresses work; managed accounts are created for users who are logging in with them. 

The problem is, since Jira Cloud doesn't enforce any kind of session timeout, there's nothing to prevent users from staying logged in with their old accounts, which are not covered by the security policies we've set at the org level.

Is there any way, as an admin, I can force all users to log out of Jira Cloud so they are then forced to log back in with their new accounts? Even if I disable site access on the old accounts, as long as their session is still active (which seems to be permanently in Cloud), they will continue to have access.

1 answer

1 vote
Stephen Sifers
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 7, 2019

Hello Esther,

Thank you for providing the complete goal you’re wanting to accomplish along with exactly what you need to get this done. The simple answer to if you’re able to log out user yourself is no. The longer answer is, Support should be able to work with you to accomplish your goal.

We went to create an issue to help you along with this but was unable to find which instance you wanted the users logged out of. With this said, we ask you to create a support request and specify the instance you want the users logged out of. To create a support request, please navigate to https://support.atlassian.com/contact/#/ and select “Technical issues and bugs”, then select your product family choosing cloud and enter your instance domain.

If you run into any issues along the way, please do let us know so we may help to expedite this process for you.

Regards,
Stephen Sifers

Manikandan Muruganandam October 23, 2019

Hi Stephen,