Calculate the time spent by team on a issue

Aman Jain November 19, 2019

Dear Community Members.

I am new to Jira and looking to implement a functionality to calculate the time spent by a Team on a particular issue.

Suppose there are two teams working on the Defect.

1) A new defect is initially assigned to Team A. 

2) Team A checks if the issue is related to them or else they Transfer the issue to another team B.

3) Team B works on the issue for a certain amount of time and may transfer it back to the Team A or can resolve the defect on their own depending on the findings.

I need to calculate the time spent By Team A and Team B on a certain defect.

We are not using Subtasks.

Can you please help me out. 

PS: I am not looking for complete solution. A heads up will do! :)

Thanks in advance,

2 answers

1 vote
Jakub Sławiński
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 5, 2019

Hi @Aman Jain ,

if you are tracking your time by simply logging worklogs and your teams are separate (i.e. there is no one that is a part of Team A and Team B), then you have everything in place.

You can for example visualize that data using the standard Workload Pie Chart gadget. Another option is to use one of the many worklogs plugins. You can check them on the marketplace: https://marketplace.atlassian.com/search?query=worklogs

0 votes
Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 21, 2019

Hello Aman,

Welcome to Atlassian Community!

Per your description, I understand that you would like to easily identify the amount of logged hours of a specific team since they do different types of work on the same issue. Is that correct?