Burndown chart is not updating

Raju AD April 3, 2018

Hi,

In one of our Project, we are using Time Tracking, we have few issues assigned to Sprint and logged the effort. But when i try to generate the Burndown Chart against Original/Remaining Time Estimate, the graph is not updating (eventhough there are some log values entered for the isseus in that Sprint).

Can some one sugeest on this, y the graph is not updating?

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 4, 2018

Are your issues with logged work in the "done" column?  (Last one on the right, may be labelled differently to "done")

Raju AD April 4, 2018

Hi,

is it is mandatory to have all the issues in the last column(Done) of the board to generate Burndownchart for Active Sprint? I am new to Agile..so...

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 4, 2018

Yes.

In Scrum, you can only burn down when the story is done.  To be done on a Jira board, it has to be in the far-right hand column, and fully complete (it's nonsense to claim an issue with open sub-tasks is done)

manuel.bedacarratz
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
August 5, 2020

Can't you set it in a way so that the burn down happens in a previous state? Maybe in setting you can change this?

Like msp likes this
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
August 5, 2020

Burn-down happens when an issue enters the last column on the board.

Like gfoidl likes this
msp May 9, 2022