Blocked status with resolution (blocked reason)

adirc July 30, 2020

Many times during the sprint developers need to put a story on "Blocked" status because the task is missing information, wait for customer decision, etc...

Or even a QA member of the team is waiting for a specific user / role to be created and the task is "blocked" 

In this case i wanted to let the users transition to "Blocked" status but to but pick a reason from a list and that it will behave exactly as the "Resolution" field when the user transit the story to Done status 

Does anyone face the same need and maybe have a solution for us? 

Thank you very much

3 answers

1 vote
Craig Cockburn June 3, 2021

I've been using Jira since 2009 and I have never encountered a good reason for a blocked status. Mostly it arises because people configuring jira don't know how to implement a blocked state in jira.

The organisations that do go down the blocked state route against my advice typically have years of pain trying to undo the damage.

Just saying. 12 years of this.

You don't need a blocked state.

Jenny Baker
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
July 26, 2021

Can you elaborate or point to another article or page?

I’m heading in this direction; however,  this is because we have thousands of tasks and tests.  By having my Leads check these blocked items regularly they can give additional guidance or information that helpers folks understand how to move forward. People often think they are blocked and are not.

thanks!

Mike Carryer April 21, 2022

Hi Craig,