Best practice/suggestions for a Multi-Client Service Desk.

cullen September 20, 2022

Hello,

I'm new with Jira configuration.  Any guidance would be appreciated.

I've been tasked with setting up a service desk ticketing system for our team. We service several different companies and would like to keep each of their queues separate and private from one another while allowing anyone on our team at Gunpowder to assign, task and communicate with the end user.

From what I've researched it's not possible to have a single project with a single support portal, while maintaining privacy across the queues. https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-1954

I'm wondering what would be the best approach to this?  Would we be able use Automation Rules and Issue Security Schemes to have a single project with secure issues in each queue?  Or is it really just best to make multiple projects for each client?

Thanks in advance for any input!

All the Best,
Cullen

2 answers

0 votes
cullen September 29, 2022

Oh, got it.  Thanks for the clarification.  I was under the impression that any customer with access to the projects portal would be able to see anyone else's ticket.  So I guess my real question is how to automate the separation of different organizations tickets into separate queues based on their email domains?

0 votes
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 20, 2022

Hello @cullen 

Welcome to the community.

In Service desk there is the concept of "agent" users and "customer" users. "Customers" in your case would be the companies to whom you provide service. "Agents" are your team members who work on the tickets.

The issue you references concerns how to make the Queues visible based on teams of Agent users, not Customer users.