Automation of functions across Jira and Confluence

David Stokes April 10, 2019

Hello Atlassian Community!

Just looking for a bit of guidance to know whether something is possible.

It relates to JIRA and Confluence in the cloud and automation.  I know there are products like Bob Swift's addons that might do the job, but I don't want to wade through the documentation to find out (and I'm not technical enough to know from looking at it whether it will do what I want or not).

Anyway, here I go:

From a Jira record, I want to be able to click on a button (or trigger it in some way), to create a Confluence page based on a template.  The name of the page should be the same as the Jira Summary field.  Embedded on the Confluence template is a Jira Issue/Filter Macro with a JQL query in it - in that query, I want to insert the key of the Jira record into that query (the rest of the query needs to stay there).  When the new Confluence page is published, then I want to copy the URL (preferably the shorten URL) of that page and insert it into a URL field on the Jira record.

At the moment this is all done manually and it isn't the nicest thing for normal users to do.  So if I can automate it, it would be fantastic.

So, is it possible?

Many Thanks
David

3 answers

0 votes
Deleted user April 16, 2019

Hi David,

After going through your requirements, understood that we can do automation of the tasks and tried to achieve them by using our app 'Run CLI actions for jira'.

Confluence page creation is possible based on the transition. But it cannot be created based on a template.
Please do the implementation as specified below.

1) Create a postfunction, through which we can create confluence page and its name can set as same as the Jira Summary field.

Please create an application link with a name like, 'Jira-Test' which links Jira and Confluence.