Assign issues to different Kanban boards in one parent project

Michael McGinley January 30, 2018

Hello! I am new to Jira and Kanban project management. I am using a Kanban board in Jira, and want to assign distinct issues to specific boards under one parent project. I understand how to create a board, but do not see how to assign issues to different boards. For example I would like to have a board on application improvements and a board on SW licensing, and manage these as somewhat separate efforts under the parent project. Then I would like to create issues and assign them to the appropriate boards. As I see it now in Jira, the same issues appear in both boards, apps and SW. Possibly I am missing something very simple to assign the issues to a board. Thank-you!

2 answers

1 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
Thomas Deiler
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 30, 2018

Dear @Michael McGinley,

do following:

1. create two components: application improvements , sw licensing
  2. open the first kanban board and configure->general
  3. press edit filter query and insert the following before "ordered by" (advanced)
    1. AND component = "application improvements"
  4. save the filter (same name)
  5. same for second board but different component

Now by selecting one component for the issue will assignee it to board A or B. You can do this also with a custom field, if you want to avoid components.

So long

Thomas

Thomas Deiler
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 1, 2018

Dear @Michael McGinley,

you didn't come back, yet. Do you need more help?

So long

Thomas

Michael McGinley February 7, 2018