Assign an issue to Multiple users

Suyog Karmarkar December 3, 2017

Its been several times, I tried this solution mentioned in the following link

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/How+do+I+assign+issues+to+multiple+users

I created a custom field - Group Picker. A group of 2 users has been created. I also did the Notification thing which has been mentioned. But, I still could not find a "group option" in assignee tab of the issue to be be assigned. 

Is there any other way to do this? Labels and Notes - can they be useful. Although, currently there are not many users I would still need to know the same for near future. I am a Project Manager & Scrum Master, I have all the rights as JIRA System Administrators. However, I am not the owner. 

Thanks 

Suyog

4 answers

0 votes
Kyle Cordes December 8, 2017

I think the important unstated that in some of the discussion here already, is that the notion of "an issue can be assigned to at most exactly one person" is not a fundamental law of nature. There are plausible, high quality, competent management schemes where an issue is assigned to more than one person.

However, Jira can't possibly implement every way of managing issues plausible in the universe; it is amazingly configurable, but one of the key choices made "in the box" in Jira is that it implements the idea that an issue can be assigned to at most one person. That's part of the Jira philosophy.

Over here we work around this by, in the handful of projects where it is not suitable, just using some other field that as has been discussed, to implement our own separate notion of assignment. It's not great because it doesn't integrate it all with the assignment notion built into Jira, but it gets the job done for the occasional use case.

One could imagine a future Jira that would change this notion, but it seems pretty fundamental so my guess is that it won't change in the future.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader