Add comment makes Chrome tab freeze

Aldo Armesto
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
February 20, 2020

I'm new to Jira/atlassian. My team and I want to use it for a small project and to get to know it. We only have one issue at this moment. Any time I want to add a comment to that issue, the entire tab stops working and the only way to "make it work again" is to close it and re-open it. I read another post in which the person said he would wait a few minutes and the tab would finally work but it is not working for me. This is the chain of events:

1.- enter the site using the link provided in the invite.

2.- select the project.

3.- left-hand panel, select "issues and filters"

4.- try to enter a comment. The moment I press any key on my key

Thanks.

jira.pngboard, the tab stops responding.

2 answers

0 votes
Syed Ishaq B. May 27, 2021

[#] SOLUTION [#]

I have been super frustrated dealing with this issue for over one month now -- a productivity nightmare!

So I did some digging and turns out this Jira/Confluence freeze scenario has little to do with Atlassian but the browser extensions and apps that we have installed.

A way to troubleshoot is to:

1. turn off all extensions and apps in your browser
  2. delete all cookies and cache for all Atlassian products
  3. restart the browser (important)
  4. you should be able to edit now

Now you can cut down to one or two extensions which might be causing this by turning them on one by one and restarting the browser to see the behaviour.

In my case it was the Kaspersky anti-malware browser extension that was causing the freeze on latest versions of Chrome and Safari. I have opened a support case with them and shared all technical details. Hopefully they'll be able to fix this bug so I can turn it back on. Ticket# INC000012856780

mhogains93
I'm New Here
I'm New Here