Update on Jira email notifications

G'day Atlassian community!

My name is Abhinaya Sinha and I'm a product manager for Jira. I've some exciting news to share with you on Jira notifications. 

First, we're pleased to announce that you can now manage personal notification settings in Jira directly from any email that you receive from Jira.

Second, we've started work on: 

• ability to turn off/turn on all Jira notifications sent via email
  • project level notifications for next-gen Jira projects

What has shipped

Manage your Jira notifications

At the bottom of any email sent from Jira, you will now see a "Manage notifications" link. Clicking on this link will take you to the relevant section of your personal Jira settings. Note, personal Jira settings can be accessed manually by clicking your profile avatar on the bottom left-hand side >  Settings. However, you will be able to directly get to it by clicking on "Manage notifications" link at the bottom of any email sent from Jira. 

From here, you can control the amount of email you get from Jira for 4 specific scenarios: 

• You’re watching the issue
  • You’re the reporter
  • You're the assignee for the issue
  • Someone mentions you

By default, you'll get email updates for the above kinds of issue activity. But you now have the ability to control these directly from Jira emails. It is worth noting that these settings are your personal Jira settings. They apply uniquely to you, and only you, and for all your Jira projects. The images, below, visually depict a Jira email with "manage notifications" link as well as "email notification preference on your personal Jira settings page.

notifications_email.png

personalSettings.png

What is coming up

Ability to turn off/turn on Jira email notifications