Small improvements for a better diagram view of the new workflow editor

Updated June 14th, 2024 to add new Assignee functions

Hello my favorite Jira admins!

I'm a Product Manager bringing workflow improvements to Jira Cloud. I’m excited to share the improvements we’re making with the intent of making the diagram user-friendly, especially with complex workflow configurations. In particular, we’ve:

• Updated the display of global transitions and lozenges

• Making transition labels collapsable

• Updated the Display of shared transitions *

• Added the Assignee functions of the old editor to the new one

*this is available in company-managed projects for now, but we do plan to bring it to team-managed projects later

I’ll quickly run you through these changes. Let us know in the comments what else you’d like to see!

Updated diagram view of global transitions and lozenges

Imagine you made a workflow using the old editor view, and you later go to edit it in the new Editor view. But it’s so hard to read, things are misaligned, and where did my clean workflow map go?!

We heard your feedback and redesigned how the global transitions and the status lozenges shows up in the new editor view.

Screenshot 2024-05-29 at 2.04.24 PM.png

It might be hard to tell from this very simple image, but this small design tweak makes large workflows easier to read. So the only thing you’ll need to worry about is whether your workflow aligns with how your company works – not how hard it is to read.

Collapsable transition labels

With this change, we brought the collapsable transition labels to the New Workflow editor for both CMP and TMP projects.

When you're managing workflows in the New editor, you can hide transition elements to reduce the amount of clutter on your screen. Oh, happy days!

Screenshot 2024-05-29 at 1.52.50 PM.png

More compact display of Shared transition

Lastly, we have new Shared transitions in the New Workflow Editor for company-managed projects.