Recurring Tasks in JIRA

I'm sure there are several ways of doing this, however since I recently crossed on questions regarding this topic, I figured I might as well share it in details :).

What's the problem?

For starters, I work in a bank, IT Division, Software Development Department. Also I'm the guy in charge for Jira and Confluence dev & app administration.

In our department, being developers, we don't have that many recurring tasks. Sure there are recurring actions, meetings, but tasks... no. On the other hand colleagues from the IT Operations department tell a different story. They have daily maintenance checks and procedures to execute. This was becoming an overhead, as they still needed to keep a manual "checklist" for the order of tasks and also open a new Jira issue each day (we don't keep issues open to log on repetitively).

So... Solution anyone?

We needed something automated, but also configurable. Meaning that this should not be a hard-coded template which would require tinkering to change.

This was one of the cases where I didn't do much research ahead.

Not necessarily a bad thing, since the solution seemed pretty obvious based on our current setup.

We clone issues a lot in our Jira and have this is "automated" in the workflow, which saves a bit of time. So essentially cloning a "template" would work for this one.

Here's the high level plan we came up with:

• Create a "Template" project created with basic 2 step workflow (active / inactive)
  • Project Must have Task Issue Type only as available (optional sub-tasks)
  • Same screen configuration as "Target" project
  • Each task in the "Template" project will serve as an issue template
  • Workflow must have a self pointing "cloning" transition into active status, which will have a post function to clone itself into the "Target" project