Keyboard shortcuts have arrived for next-gen projects!

Hi Atlassian Community!

My name is Ivan, and I’m a Product Manager on Jira Software Cloud.

I’m pleased to announce that keyboard shortcuts have arrived for next-gen projects!

Keyboard shortcuts are a table-stakes feature of a modern cloud SaaS product in 2020. Admins and end-users across both SMBs to enterprises will realize valuable efficiency gains from keyboard shortcuts.

We’ve collected feedback from users around the lack of shortcuts, and we’re here to address that:

In next-gen projects, I miss the keyboard shortcuts badly. This is particularly true on the Board, but also in the Backlog. Too many operations require either a right click or--much worse--clicking through on the item to get to the issue mini-view. Too many clicks, too slow. The particular workflow I was trying to do today was assigning issues to folks from the Board. But the root of the pain is the lack of keyboard shortcuts.

A lot of the keyboard shortcuts no longer work. Navigating boards, assigning labels etc. This makes Jira much more time-consuming to use. Please fix this!

Nothing will speed up your work like keyboard shortcuts, making you efficient day-to-day.

Who doesn’t want to shave off those seconds navigating around Jira when all they need is a few taps on their keyboards? To know what shortcuts you have in next-gen, hit ? when you’re in a next-gen project. You’ll see the shortcuts specific to next-gen projects.

Screen Shot 2020-09-01 at 5.21.26 pm.png

Now that you know what shortcuts, I’ll paint a few scenarios that will help you become a power user of Jira - so you can get your work done fast!

FOCUS

1. Find an issue quickly.

Focus your board and backlog on the issues that match your search field with f, collapsing all content that aren’t matching your searched field.

f-shortcut.gif

2. Open up a detailed view of the issue.