How to get your non-development teams on board for using JIRA Software

Background

As a Jira Administrator, I am passionate about helping others get the most from their Projects, especially within my current workplace. All of our software development teams use JIRA Software. Initially, our non-development teams were not using Jira within their current working processes. Fortunately for me, I was not the only person to notice this opportunity.  

If you’re short on time, feel free to skip to the TLDR at the end of this article! Otherwise, grab a mug of something and settle in for some best practices on getting your non-development teams on board with Jira.

How it starts

The initial idea of using Jira was suggested as a way to help the Sales team with their Change Management process. They needed a tool to help track incoming change requests and to report their current statuses, Jira fit the bill.

voice-of-customer-860x450_c.jpg

This was informal, word-of-mouth, my colleague was not actively searching to change the Sales team’s Change Management process. Understandably the Sales team,  like any team with established working processes, needed to carefully consider any changes to working practices, ensuring clear business values are apparent, as any negative impact could affect client relationships and potential business.

This is the crux of “how it starts”: we apply a gradual process of gathering requirements for teams and groups of individuals that could attain positive outcomes from using Jira. Be aware though, it is likely to be difficult to change the tools used by other teams without buy-in from their Department Leads. Instead, you need to show potential users that Jira will get them what they want with greater ease and accuracy than their current system.

Breaking down the barriers

So, you have some buy-in and you want to maximise its potential. Time for a meeting!

e87c4e9830a7b39d1aaeceeaedffc5ca.jpg