How to Jira for designers

jira-design_tweet.png

I’m a designer on the Jira team. For a long time, I’ve fielded questions from other designers about how they should be using Jira Software with their design team. I’ve also heard feedback from other designers that while they love how Jira helps them to collaborate with dev teams, sometimes Jira feels unfamiliar or even overwhelming for day to day work.

With the release of our next-gen template for Jira Software, we think we’ve made the Jira Software easier to set up and more intuitive to use for design teams. As one of the designers building next-gen, we’ve also honed practices to help our design team be as effective as possible with Jira Software.

I wrote this article giving 6 tips for design teams to improve the way they work with Jira Software:

https://medium.com/designing-atlassian/how-to-jira-for-designers-e37c354aa078

If you have thoughts, feedback or comments, feel free to share them here! 

5 comments

@James Rotanson it's exciting to see a how-to showing the new capabilities of next-gen software geared towards a design-centered team.

Do you know if there is existing documentation or efforts to show:

• How this Design centered project could fit in with say Classic Jira Software dev project workflows? How could people transition issues from Design to Dev? Or share updates with design on how those features are being dev'd - think this would be a very valuable how-to to show how Next-Gen and Classic projects work together - lmk if this documentation exists somewhere!
  • From what I have seen, it seems that Next-Gen is being geared towards a simpler UI and less dev focused features. Does that mean that it's also being targeted towards PM?
  • One of the conundrums our team faces all the time is how dev practices tie into design team workflow, and PM team workflow. It would be great if there are more resources to make these processes more cohesive.

Thanks for sharing!

Nikki