Feature Announcement: Jira Software Next-gen Workflows Transitions: In Progress -> Done

Hello Jira Software next-gen fans,

My name is Bryan Lim and I'm a Product Manager working on next-gen.

Today, I'm pleased to announce the launch of Workflow Transitions in next-gen. Workflow Transitions enable teams to visualize and map their process into Jira. Let’s consider an example: a scrum master of a software team wants to ensure each task goes through a specific process before it can be marked as Done. For example, a task must go through the following steps for completion: To Do, In Progress, In Review, and finally, Done.

gif1.gif

What’s new

Admins can access the Workflow Editor via the next-gen board. Rules help admins streamline and automate common steps for a team’s workflow; thus, project admins will now need to visit the Workflow Editor to create and edit rules.

Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 1.27.33 PM.png

Workflow Transitions

Admins can map their team’s process to Jira and ensure work goes through specific status transition(s).

Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 12.52.24 AM.png

New Rules!

We’ve added three new transition rules to next-gen:

1. Restrict who can move an issue
  2. Check that an issue has been through a status
  3. Check an issue’s field

Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 1.23.12 AM.png
An example of the “Restrict who can move an issue” rule is when a team only wants the Product Owner to move issues from “In Review” to “Done.

Add a rule to a transition via the Workflow Editor:
Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 12.59.05 AM.png

Restricted transition rule reflected on the board:

Screen Shot 2020-12-01 at 9.40.55 AM.png

Which rule is your favorite?

Dropzones on the board

When transitions are set up, end users understand how work flows on the board via dropzones
ezgif.com-gif-maker (2).gif

What’s next