4 tips on navigating Jira Cloud from a Jira PM

Hi everyone!

I’m Matt and I’m a Product Manager on the Jira Cloud team. Before working at Atlassian, I used Jira products for several years. I used to manage multiple projects across many boards and, as a Jira admin, I set up custom project configurations and workflows so our teams could better manage our dependencies.

Like many others, I was very familiar with the look and feel of the old Jira experience. When I joined the Jira team in the midst of finalising the rollout of the new experience, I ran into the same learning curve and challenges that our customers were giving us feedback about.

After using the new experience for a few months, I’ve gathered a list of tips and tricks based on some of the most common Jira use cases:

Tip #1 - Star ( 🌟) your boards, projects, filters, dashboards, and issues for easy access.

The starred and recents panel lets you quickly access the things most relevant to you. The ordering of your starred items is based on the timestamp they are created. By default, the oldest starred items will appear at the top. If you find the need to reorder them, feel free to drag the item and move it around as you see fit.

There are a few different ways to star items:

• In the starred and recent panel. The panel displays items that have already been starred and that you’ve recently viewed. Star a recently viewed item by hovering over it and clicking the star icon.

Tips_Jira_Navigation_StarDrawer_Starring.png

• Star items from a project, board, filter, or dashboard. A star icon will appear at the top right corner of the page of any items that can be starred. Note that issues can only be starred from within the starred and recent panel.

Tips_Jira_Navigation_StarDrawer_InlineStarring_NextGen.png

• From a directory page. When viewing all boards, projects, filters, and dashboards, you will see a column that shows which items have been starred. Hover over items to star or unstar them.