Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Tasks nested under stories/epics?

Hi,

I'm planning a project that's not related to software (property-development and construction).

Happens to be that I'm a software developer myself (not in this project though), and I've been working with tools like DevOps and project management methodologies.

I have a project that divides in several phases each made up of smaller stages, each of them having a hierarchy tree of tasks and sub tasks.
The project has a more linear fashion although some parts can take place simultaneously.

Is there a way to achieve this with Jira Work Management?
Any template I should be using or tutorial I should be looking at?

Thanks

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Chase Wilson Atlassian Team Jul 13, 2021

Hi @weitzhandler , welcome! Jira Work Management now supports two levels of hierarchy on the Timeline view (issue --> subtask) with plans for three levels on the list in the next few months (epic --> issue --> subtask). Dependency mapping on the Timeline is also coming this week.

As for templates, I would suggest using the Project Management template since your workflow doesn't seem to be particularly complex in this case. Splitting work into Epics is probably best (which will entail adding the Epic issue type to the project you create).

Cheers!

Hey @Chase Wilson and thanks for your quick and detailed reply.

Would you suggest meanwhile starting with Jira Software until these features are implemented in Work Management?

Would it be able to migrate it from Software when time comes?

This is kind of a blocker to me in Work Management.

Chase Wilson Atlassian Team Jul 14, 2021