Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JMWE error "expected a number but got" on a sum() event-based calculation.

Sally Wheeler July 14, 2022

I am new to using JMWE and I probably have the syntax incorrect but I cannot figure out what is wrong.

I have an issue type named shipment in which a number field is entered with the number of samples in that shipment.

This issue type is under an epic.

I would like a total number of samples field to be shown on the epic view screen where it is continually updated every time the number of samples field is updated in any shipment for the epic.

This is what I did. But the field still says None. I even went to a shipment and switched a number and switched it back to hopefully trigger the calculation and still nothing. Can you help to clarify what I am misunderstanding? The error it states: "expected a number but got: | sum({issue.fields.customfield_10083})"

image.png

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
David Fischer
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 14, 2022

Hi @Sally Wheeler ,

the correct syntax for the value would be:

{{targetIssue | stories("customfield_10083") | field("fields.customfield_10083") | sum }}
  •  targetIssue represents the target issue (the parent Epic of the current issue)
  • | stories("customfield_10083") returns all Stories of that Epic, returning only the customfield_10083 custom field (for efficiency)
  • | field("fields.customfield_10083") returns an array of the value of the customfield_10083 field for each Story
  • | sum sums up the values in the array

Thank you. @David Fischer  I really appreciate you breaking down the syntax. I am new to using the language and am struggling. Even the documentation that is provided does not breakdown when you have to work with different issue levels.