Why am I unable to change the priority of a ticket that has already been created?

Felicia Moser April 26, 2018

We currently have boards up and running. We were going through our backlog items and could not change the priority of tickets previously made. We have a test JIRA board and and we are able to change the priority arrows there. I'm new to JIRA/didn't set up our boards. What can I do to make it so that we are able to change the priorities of the ticket at any time during the sprint? 

3 answers

1 vote
alan.brady@eschergroup.com
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
November 13, 2019

You can only edit the priority if using old JIRA view, cannot edit under new JIRA view - this is a known bug in JIRA. To change to old view do the following:

Click on your profile picture on bottom LHS of screen, then Account Settings, in JIRA labs turn off New Jira issue view. If you refresh your screen the issue will change view. You can always change it back if you no longer want to edit a priority.

Michael Thompson
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 15, 2020

This only applies to Jira Cloud, there is no option to turn off New Jira Issue View in Jira Software.

Erik Peterson
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
July 22, 2021

Good job Atlassian!

Like Aryan Abraham likes this
Serge DUDNIC April 12, 2023

is it solved by now, in 2023?

Like # people like this
Aaron Wasserman
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
August 14, 2023

Looks like this is still the case, a user who is a project administrator cannot edit the priority field in the JSM board.

Like Jacob J likes this
0 votes
Pieter Wouter Hartog
Rising Star
Rising Star