Validate checkbox custom field with Scriptrunner

Danish Hussain Sabunwala May 20, 2021

Hi Team,

Forgive me if it comes up as a silly question since I am a complete beginner to Scriptrunner. I am trying to add the following validator script to Workflow but getting the following error.

cfValues['Sub-Status']*.value.contains("On hold")

Here 'Sub-Status' is a checkbox field having only 1 value 'On hold' currently.

Error Validator.PNG

Could you please help me with the solution?

Thanks and Regards

Danish Hussain

2 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Kristian Walker _Adaptavist_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 20, 2021

Hi Danish,

Thank you for your question.

I can confirm that the reason for your error is due to your validator expression is not valid code for Jira cloud and is groovy code that will only work on Jira server.

I can confirm that inside of Jira Cloud that validators are designed using the Jira Expression Framework and you would need to use this expression syntax to define the validator that you require.

I can confirm that we have a knowledge base article located here which explains how you can use this to create the validator that you want with ScriptRunner for Jira Cloud and I hope this helps to achieve your requirement.

I hope this information helps.

Regards,

Kristian

Hello @Kristian Walker _Adaptavist_ ,
Thank you for the above links.

I was able to find scripts related to labels, links, discription, sub-tasks etc. but unable to get anything regarding Checkboxes.

If possible, could you provide a code similar to cfValues['Sub-Status']*.value.contains("On hold") for JIRA cloud?

Thanks in advance,

Danish Hussain Sabunwala

Kristian Walker _Adaptavist_
Community Leader
Community Leader