Uploading attachments via REST API (JIRA)

Matt Smith April 23, 2021

Hello! 

We are currently undergoing a migration and I need to bulk upload attachments to existing Jira tickets from a local store; I am attempting to follow the REST API code provided on Atlassian Confluence: 

curl -D- -u {username}:{password} -X POST -H "X-Atlassian-Token: nocheck" -F "file=@{path/to/file}" http://{base-url}/rest/api/2/issue/{issue-key}/attachments

I've created an API key and input this as the password with the username.
When running this I am receiving: 

curl: (26) Failed to open/read local data from file/application

I have attempted moving this file into a higher location and using both parent folder and the document as the {path/to/file} but I must be missing something as I am very new to this. 

Thank you in advance for any support. 

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Prince Nyeche
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 23, 2021

Hi @Matt Smith 

Are you migrating from server to cloud instance or from a cloud to cloud instance?

Hey @Prince Nyeche

Thanks for your quick response, it's cloud to cloud - as far as I am aware there is no clean way to do it, 

What we're attempting is bulk download via a 3rd party application available on the Atlassian marketplace and then attempting to find a bulk upload process, 

Thank you! 
Matt

Prince Nyeche
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 23, 2021

Hey @Matt Smith