Unable to 'Move sprint up' on 'Backlog' tab in JIRA Agile

Randall Fisher
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 6, 2015

I have a user that is an Admin on all projects included in the board.  The user is also an admin of the board.

When the user tries to 'Move sprint up' to re-arrange the sprints on the Backlog tab, they eventually get an error message complaining they are not an Admin on projects x,y,z (which they are).

As a JIRA Admin, I can move the sprint up for them.

Why can't this user change the order of the sprints?

Figured I would ask here first before opening a ticket with Atlassian.

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Randall Fisher
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 25, 2015

A user cannot move sprints on the backlog view if they do not have permission on all the issues assigned to sprints on the board, even if the issues in those sprints are being filtered out, off of, the board.

Do a quick audit of open issues in all projects in the error and ensure that there is not a sprint marker assigned from the board you are looking at..  Use an issue filter, looking at open sprints, and look for a sprint that does not belong to the project the board covers.  (Hopefully you do not use short Sprint names like 'Sprint 1' on all your projects.)

1 vote
Pilar
Rising Star
Rising Star
August 17, 2015

I recommend the user to try this, the system will tell you which projects the user needs project admin rights on. Then go to those JIRA projects administration tab and give the user project admin permissions on those X,y and Z projects.