URGENT! Different teams + Same project + Different workflows?

Dionei Piazza January 10, 2020

Hi, I'm new in Jira.

I have the following scenario:

• One same project (one product deliverable)
  • 5 squads
  • We use Kanban board (physical)
    • Our upstream has the same phases to all 5 squads.
    • Our downstream may has different phases to each squad (eg. Squad 1 has Deploy status, but Squad 2 don't need Deploy status because it has CD - Continuous Delivery).

Given that squads have different downstream workflows, what is the best way/good practice to configure this in Jira?

1. Should I create different projects to each squad?
    • I guess this would solve the "different squad workflows" 
    • With different projects, can I get an overview (metrics and a chart of all squads in one view)?
  2. Should I create just one project and different boards to each squad?
    • Here I can't imagine how to solve the "different squad workflows".

4 answers

3 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 10, 2020

Hi @Dionei Piazza  - Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

One way to solve that is with a single project and workflow like you have it.

Then create a Group for each Squad and place the members in it. 

Then put Conditions on the Transitions to the phase that allows only that Group (Squad) to access it. 

Another way to do it with the same project and workflow is to create a custom field with multiple select. We call it Dev Needs. Then put the optional phases in the field. The user then selects the check box for the applicable phase. 

Then put conditions on your transitions again that check the Dev Needs field (or whatever you might call it) for that phase value. 

That is a quick solution although maybe not all that clean. It works for us though. 

John Funk
Community Leader