Transition issue when pull request is merged on a specific branch in Github

grant.stevens@thingtech.com March 8, 2019

I'm trying to figure out how to transition an issue when a developer merges a pull request that contains a Jira-linked commit. I'm trying to automate a specific part of our workflow to eliminate the need for developers to manually transition a story.

I basically need a conditional trigger on a workflow transition so I can say something like "when a pull request is merged to master that contains a related commit, transition this story".

I know that we could probably achieve this with smart commits, but that requires engineers to remember to add the proper hashtag to their commit messages for the merge branch. I want to eliminate as much human interaction as possible, so smart commits don't fit the bill.

Is there a way to script this somehow? I'm still a bit new to Jira administration, so I'm familiar with the possibilities.

Thanks!

5 answers

1 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
Julio Kenji Bando April 13, 2020

Hello!

I was looking for the same here then I found that it's already available in automation rules:

Jira Automation Rules 

Koen_Langenhuijzen April 14, 2020

Unfortunately this does not seem to work when using Jira Server?

Daniel Eads
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 14, 2020

Hi @Koen_Langenhuijzen - the automation rules for Server are the same, however you need to install the Automation app separately here for Jira Server and Jira Data Center  (Automation is built-in in Cloud now).

@Julio Kenji Bando this is a great use of automation!

Like Julio Kenji Bando likes this
Koen_Langenhuijzen April 15, 2020