Tracking tasks and subtasks individually whilst linked to a story

Mudasa Khan June 21, 2021

Hi All,

I am very new to SCRUM and Jira.

I have been playing around with the cloud software and I am facing an issue and I am not sure if this is how it should be or not.

This is my flow Epic > User Story > Sub task

My problem with this is that any subtask under story that comes into progress in a sprint cannot be moved to the in progress column. Neither when it is complete.

If I add user story and then Tasks instead of subtasks, they are individual items. I have to manually track which user story the individual tasks are linked to. Although I can then progress individual tasks through the process.

What is the solution to this or is this just the way it is?

3 answers

0 votes
Mudassar Khan June 22, 2021

So the solution apparently was right under my nose.

All I had to do was in the board view in the right hand side open the drop down 'group by' and select subtask. 

The stories then expanded to show me all the subtasks within. I could then individually move the sub tasks across the board to any column without any issue.

Thanks all.

Mudassar Khan June 22, 2021

This view is so perfect for me as the stories are complex and need a fair few subtasks and I can so easily see which tasks are attached to which stories and their progress.

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 21, 2021

It does not sound exactly right to me, but there are hints that it sort of is, in some ways.