Spill Over Stories

Jackie Gonzalez July 17, 2013

I am looking for information/advice on what to do with stories that spill over from one sprint to another. Sometimes because the team committed but did not complete, and sometimes because we took on a stretch story at the end of a sprint and did not complete it.

Specifically, I'd like advice on how to handle the reporting side of things. At the end of a sprint, we look at how much our original time estimates were versus how many hours were added/reduced (using work logs). If I remove a story from the sprint, and move it to the next, however, that story and its subtasks, worklogs etc. don't appear in reports on the original sprint.

Additionally, if I report on number of hours worked during the new sprint, the total work on each task/story is including time logged from the previous sprint.

I am new to Jira so any help would be great.

Thanks

jackie

5 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
P R July 17, 2013

Hi Jackie,

My reccomendation is to NOT remove the story from the sprint; instead, use Greenhopper's default process of carrying over incomplete stories.

When the sprint ends, use the gear icon next to the sprint name to "Complete Sprint". A warning will pop-up that indicates the number of incomplete stories/subtasks that are still in that sprint. Upon acknowledging this, the sprint will close and the incomplete stories will automatically appear at the top of the backlog. The original points, time (estimated and logged), etc. will remain on the user story (and I believe each subtask will remain in the correct status - for example, if two subtasks were complete, they will remain complete when the story is carried over).