Simple dependency chain auto-scheduling in Advanced Roadmaps?

Cory Tsang March 15, 2021

Hi,

I'm new to Jira Cloud and I'm trying to figure out a way to do simple dependency chain auto-scheduling. On Jira Server with Structure.Gantt, just establishing dependency links would auto-schedule tasks in dependency order. I'm guessing part of the problem is that the issue source is a Kanban Board, but the the documentation about auto-scheduling Kanban issues seems to indicate it will just fill up capacity on a per-day basis.  Maybe because it doesn't mention dependencies, it means it doesn't consider it?

I also noticed that the size of the bars don't get adjusted once you put in an estimate.  And, if you have overlapping dates, it doesn't seem to care.

Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks,

Cory

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Dave
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 15, 2021

Hi @Cory Tsang ,

The auto-scheduling should work fine with Kanban. The key thing is to make sure that your issues have estimates (it sounds like they have) and that the relationships you're using between issues are considered a dependency relationships in the Advanced Roadmaps settings (by default the only relationship considered a dependency is the blocks / is blocked by relationship IIRC).

You should also check the team capacity (the weekly hours) and the number of people in the team (as this can impact the auto-scheduling results). It is assumed that a team won't "swarm" on a story level issue (i.e. that only one person will work on an issue at a time) so the weekly hours is distributed across the number of team members.

You should also check the dependency scheduling configuration which can either be concurrent or sequential (it sounds like you're looking for sequential dependency scheduling).