Setting due dates on subtasks using .minusBusinessDays(x)

Rick Crow
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 2, 2020

I'm attempting to create an automation that sets due dates for each of an issue's subtasks by referencing the due date (or other custom date field) in the parent task and a date 'offset' value from a custom number field in each subtask. Our use case is that such a task/subtask scenario could be used as a template for subsequent task/subtask instances and the due date of each subtask could then be updated by simply updating the single due date in the parent task.

My thinking was that I would use something like this:

{{#=}}{{issue.parent.duedate}} - {{issue.Visit date offset}}{{/}} 

but this throws errors and obviously I'm missing the point.

I'm no coder, and that's likely clear to anyone that is, so bear with me as I explore automation options. Any help is appreciated!

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 2, 2020

Hi Rick,

I think you will need to use the Diff date feature to get a number first - and save that to custom field. I would do that one one (or either) of the dates is updated.

Then you can use the proper code to set the date. Something like: 

{{triggerIssue.duedate.minusDays(5)}}

Rick Crow
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 2, 2020