Problems installing jira - Server Refusing connections

Ben Bramson January 16, 2018

Hey Everyone!

I've been a Jira developer/admin for a few years now and have almost exclusively played with the UI, never the background server. So I figured I would use a spare home computer as a Jira server to play with.

I installed CentOS and PostgreSQL without issue. Since I'm not very familiar with server administration I ran the Jira default express install. When it finished it said that I could now connect via my web browser. Every time I try it tells me the server is refusing connections. I have confirmed that Jira is running and I can connect to the server with my terminal, but not via a browser. I'm seeing two errors that seem to pop up every time I start jira:

2018-01-15 22:50:58,120 localhost-startStop-1 ERROR      [webwork.config.DefaultConfiguration] Skipping configuration for class 'com.atlassian.jira.config.webwork.JiraPluginsConfi

guration'

java.lang.IllegalStateException: Unable to resolve component: interface com.atlassian.plugin.event.PluginEventManager

at com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessorWorker.getComponentOfType(ComponentAccessorWorker.java:40)

at com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor.getComponentOfType(ComponentAccessor.java:255)

at com.atlassian.jira.config.webwork.JiraPluginsConfiguration.getPluginEventManager(JiraPluginsConfiguration.java:85)

at com.atlassian.jira.config.webwork.JiraPluginsConfiguration$PluginSystemAccessor.<init>(JiraPluginsConfiguration.java:121)

at com.atlassian.jira.config.webwork.JiraPluginsConfiguration.<init>(JiraPluginsConfiguration.java:27)

... 3 filtered

at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Constructor.java:423)

at java.lang.Class.newInstance(Class.java:442)

at webwork.config.DefaultConfiguration.<init>(DefaultConfiguration.java:116)

at webwork.config.Configuration.getDefaultConfiguration(Configuration.java:135)

at webwork.config.Configuration.getConfiguration(Configuration.java:112)