Our "Epic Status" field configuration has somehow been modified and breaks stuff. How can I revert?

Orrin Ward June 8, 2022

Recently some people in my team found that their Epic panels in their backlog views were filled with all their Epics, including old ones which were removed by "Mark as Done".

Upon investigation, the "Epic Status" values for the issues is as I'd expect; Done.

When I looked at the configuration for the Epic Status field, it appears that the configuration has been changed from the default set of To Do / In Progress / Done and now includes a number of other statuses.

I attempted to revert the change but the field is locked by the software. I'm curious to find out how I can revert it and also what caused the change - Changes to the field were not logged in the Audit Log so I'm not able to find out how this occurred. And even as a Site Admin, I am unable to edit the configuration.

We're on Jira Premium, and make use of Jira Product Discovery and Jira PlansScreenshot 2022-06-08 at 12.21.00.pngScreenshot 2022-06-08 at 12.20.52.png

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 8, 2022

Hi Orrin,

No, you will not be able to edit Locked fields. I remember reading that Atlassian is moving away from Epic Status and will just be using the regular Status field for Epics. This will happen around the same time as moving from Epic Link to Parent. 

So, I would check the Status field for all of your Epics to see if they line up with the current values of the Epic Status field. 

Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 8, 2022

Hi, John!