Link parent ticket to subtask bugs

Rodel Bernal May 10, 2023

Hi All,

I am planning to link the subtask bugs to their parent ticket so that if these bugs are moved, we can easily identify what story ticket the bugs were discovered.

Upon creation of a subtask bug, it will be linked to its parent story ticket which goes like this: discovered while testing = {parent ticket}.

How can I do this? I am new to JIRA automation and I can't seem to figure out a way to do this.

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks.

1 answer

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 10, 2023

Hello @Rodel Bernal 

Let me see if I understand your scenario.

You have a Subtask Issue Type that is specifically for bugs discovered related to an issue. When you discover a bug related to an issue you create an issue of type Subtask Bug and this is a child subtask under the issue.

And then you might change the parent of the Subtask Bug issue so that it is no longer a child subtask of the original issue.

But you want to retain information so you know that the Subtask Bug was originally created under a particular issue.

Do I have that correct?

If so, you would start with the Issue Created trigger.

https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/jira-automation-triggers/#Issue-created

After that you would add a Condition to confirm that the create issue that triggered the rule was a Subtask Bug type of issue. You would use the Issue Fields Condition to check the Issue Type field.

https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/jira-automation-conditions/#Issue-fields-condition

You would then add a Link Issues action. You can use a smart value to indicate you want the subtask linked to its parent issue.

https://support.atlassian.com/cloud-automation/docs/jira-automation-actions/#Link-issues