Jira automation set planned start dates for stories in epic

Felix Biegger March 23, 2023

Hi,
I am new to the whole automation thing, but want to give it a try.

Here's what I am trying to achieve:

* I have repetitive tasks / sample lots that are represented in an Epic

* stories are used for individual process steps. There are no further subtasks.

* I managed to auto-generate the stories for the epic. Now I would like to auto-set the planned start dates of the stories within the epic based on the planned start date of the parent epic.

* ie. story 1 starts along with the epic (I managed to do this, as there is a GUI option to do that)

* story 2 should start 5 business days after the epic planned start date --> I'll need to use a smart function/code for that

*story 3 should start 8 days after epic start and so forth... (I know the if function to distinguish between the stories btw. by checking if the name contains a specific wording)

* Like this I only need to create the epic and set it's planned starting date, while stories have that planned consistently, without having to input this manually every time.

I have no experience with coding at all, so please bear with me.

The trigger works fine as the first branch works OK, I just need to figure out the piece of code to look up the planned start date in the parent epic (=trigger issue) and put the adjusted date (likely with "plusBusinessDays(5)") in the story field.

grafik.pnggrafik.png

What actually would have helped a lot, would be if I could look at the code behind the things that you can choose within the GUI. E.g. in the screenshot below, I'd like to know what the fields are doing in code. I would have been able to copy/paste the lookup function for the trigger issue planned start date. Is there a way to check this code?

grafik.png

Thanks a lot in advance! cheers

Felix

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader