Jira Automation intended to clone issue upon transition to Done not working

Apryl Harris September 16, 2022

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Automation and json. I copied existing, working Automation from a team-managed project to apply to a new company-managed project. But, the automation is not working in the company-managed project. All fields are on the screens and conditions were met in the test issue. What's wrong with this Automation?

Things to know:

1. Resolution screen on Done transition
  2. Issue can be transitioned out of Done to To Do. If that is executed, resolution is cleared 
  3. To Do is the Kanban board's Backlog status

Thank you for your help, Community!

Automation Image #1.pngAutomation Image #2.png

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 16, 2022

Hello @Apryl Harris 

Please explain what exactly you mean by the automation is "not working".

Please show us the Audit Log for an execution of the Rule where you did not end up getting the expected results.

Not working = i expect a cloned issue would be created with an issue is transitioned to Done. the cloned issue is not created. Log is attachedAutomation Audit Log.png

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 16, 2022

Based on the image you provided, the issue that triggered the rule execution did not match your fourth condition

Issue Type = Task

Like Bill Sheboy likes this

But, the issue type = Task. See upper left corner.

Task.png

However, it got me to thinking that I may just need to refresh the field selections even though I made the custom fields with the same name for the company-managed project.