Jira Audit Log - anonymous user

Robert Lee January 4, 2021

I am new to Atlassian administration of Jira and Confluence.  Over the holiday week a new Jira app, Risk Register, was installed.  When I viewed the Jira Audit Log, the "By" user information indicates "anonymous", please see below:

Installed app Risk Register (com.projectbalm.riskregister.riskregister-jira version 1.1.39-AC)anonymousDec 28 2020 12:12:18 AM

How can I get more information?

5 answers

1 vote
Prince Nyeche
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 4, 2021

Hi @Robert Lee 

Welcome to Community! Ah this is a tricky mystery! Most times, when an Add-on is being installed it fires some event which goes to the lifecycle of the App, in most cases it should return a response and details of the app stored. In rare cases, this occurs and you get an indication of anonymous user. This is problematic to debug, but if you really want to know who installed the App or more info, you can get in touch with Atlassian Support, although they have a time limit on how long such information is kept.

0 votes
Tara L Conklin July 13, 2021

Afternoon, 

I just discovered the same problem occurring with nearly all of our Confluence Cloud extensions. I attached a screenshot of the audit log and you can see the mysterious 'anonymous' installation is occurring after an attempted automatic update. 

Any ideas why this is happening? Screen Shot 2021-07-13 at 1.52.52 PM.png

Daniel Ebers
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 18, 2021