Is there any way to reproduce the sequence order of sub-bugs within a bug in issue search?

Hector Catre August 23, 2017

As a product manager, I need to see labels when looking at a list of bugs so that I can more easily group them together when prioritizing a master backlog of bugs. 

Background
I keep a prioritized list of reported issues as sub-bugs within a master bug so that I can keep bugs seperate from stories in my backlog. When we sprint plan we move then from the master bug list to a sprint bug as sub bugs, so that, again, we can keep issues seperate from stories.

In my master bug, I have the ability to change the sequence order of sub-bugs so as to prioritize them and bring them in to sprints when appropriate. We can also estimate then in this format. 

Optimizing on the system, we also organize/detail bugs through labels which serve as keys to indicate system components, general customer impact level, general business impact value, how the issue was identified (customer suppoprt, QA team, e] other please explain), etc.

In the issue search, I can see the full details of every sub-bug in the master bug backlog by searching for "parent = <master bug key>", but there appears to be no way to sort by sequence in the current search. 

When I look at the master bug, I can see all of the sub-bugs in sequenced order, but can't see labels in this view. 

Help. 

1 answer

0 votes
Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 23, 2017

Hi Hector

To your parent = <master bug key> you could add order by rank ASC (or DESC)  or any other way of sorting.

If your sub-bugs within the master are dragged and dropped to sort, that should be ranking, so the above query should work

Hi Warren, 

I've tried sorting by rank.