Integration with Google Drive

Albert Hristov April 24, 2023

Hello, All,

We have a requirement to store files from certain issues on Google Drive. We can easily detect these issues with JQL and I think we can send these attachments via Automation Rule and sending a Web Request.

I am unsure what the body of that request should contain though.

Does anyone have experience with such a task and can give me some tips on how to achieve the upload of all files from JQL selected issues to Google Drive?

Thank you in advance.

4 answers

0 votes
Andrea Ho
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 4, 2023

Hi @Albert Hristov I am a product manager in Jira working on a Google Shared drive integration to a Jira project. It's different to your scenario above, but I'm wondering if you'd be interested in taking a look before we release to give some feedback or input? If so, please feel free to book a time with me here: https://calendly.com/andreaho-atlassian/30mincall 

Joe Buttigieg February 13, 2024

Hi Andrea,

Sorry to jump in on someone else's question but you mentioned that you are working on a Google Shared drive integration. Is that still the case.

I really like this add on https://marketplace.atlassian.com/apps/1223317/google-drive-and-docs-for-jira?hosting=cloud&tab=overview 

But we would need the ability to control all of this via API for what we need it for, and I can see API access has been on their request list for many years.

Our use case is:

• We have lots of client documents on Google Drive, broken up into sub folders by client and year
  • We have a project set up per group of clients
  • We have a Jira issue per client per year, and we want to display the GD documents for the client. 
  • As there are thousands of clients, we want the ability to set the connect GD folder via API

As such, I was wondering how your project is going and whether it might be useful for our need.

Andrea Ho