I want to change screens for different issue types

Ayush Pathak April 19, 2024

I have created a project and on toggling the issue types I want to change the screen configurations also. If that is possible let me know how can I do that I am new to jira. 

2 answers

2 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Perisic Nikola
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 19, 2024

Welcome to the community @Ayush Pathak 

It sure is possible to do! Let me explain. So, there are some prerequisites that need to be accomplished:

1. Create a screen - I would advise you to use copy the existing screen, since it will copy all of the fields from the existing screens, and also a good practice is to use your project key (you can find this if you got to Project Settings (cog) -> Details -> Key). When you create a screen, you will notice that under the Screen Scheme column, every screen has it's scheme. At first your created screen won't have it.

Note: You can add or remove the new fields within your screen if you search for them, when you have chosen your screen.

1. Create a screen scheme - Here, I would also advise you to copy the existing screen scheme, you will need to configure it, in order to connect your freshly made screen with this screen scheme - mostly all of the things like workflows, issue types, screens, etc. are connected through their schemes that are being applied to their respective projects. When you make your new screen scheme, you will notice that it is using the Default Screen - this is generated automatically by Atlassian at the very moment you have created your site. To change this, you would need to look for three dots and click on Configure. On the right side, below the Actions column, click on Edit. Go ahead and choose your screen that you have made. Good! It should look something like this: