How to send a customer e-mail to a specific group when a custom field is updated

Rimet Hynniewta January 24, 2021

I want to notify a group when a project manager field ( Custom field) is updated with the name of the project manager.

I have Script runner and I tried to create a listener using the Issue Event update. What I think I need to do is to create a condition. Maybe the condition should be if the project manager field is not null.

I am not a developer so I do not know what the script should be

Please let me know

Rimet

3 answers

0 votes
Brian Swackhamer July 14, 2022

1. Create a listener in script runner for updates - which you did

2. Add code to look at the right field to check the values

My example as I had a multi-select but can be modified for a single select

///////This is to get the Product(s) list

def cField = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObjectsByName("Product(s)"

def cFieldValue = issue.getCustomFieldValue(cField[0]) as List

//Need to loop through the products as based on that information we may need to send to various folks

cFieldValue.eachWithIndex { it, i ->

BodyText = BodyText + "<br> &emsp;&emsp;&emsp;&emsp;&emsp;" + it.value //creates a running list of values

projectRole1 = ComponentAccessor.getComponent(ProjectRoleService).getProjectRoleByName(it.value, new SimpleErrorCollection()) //get project roles as that was my grouping

actors1 = ComponentAccessor.getComponent(ProjectRoleService).getProjectRoleActors(projectRole1, issue.projectObject, new SimpleErrorCollection()) //getting the 

//checking to make sure I have folks in my group and if so I am building an address list

if (actors1 != null){

ReceiptiantAddress = ReceiptiantAddress + actors1?.getApplicationUsers()*.emailAddress.join(",")

}

}
0 votes
Rimet Hynniewta June 17, 2021