Are you in the loop? Keep up with the latest by making sure you're subscribed to Community Announcements. Just click Watch and select Articles.

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

Earn badges and make progress

You're on your way to the next level! Join the Kudos program to earn points and save your progress.

Deleted user Avatar
Deleted user

Level 1: Seed

25 / 150 points

Next: Root


1 badge earned


Participate in fun challenges

Challenges come and go, but your rewards stay with you. Do more to earn more!


Gift kudos to your peers

What goes around comes around! Share the love by gifting kudos to your peers.


Rise up in the ranks

Keep earning points to reach the top of the leaderboard. It resets every quarter so you always have a chance!


How to approach multi-level hierarchy in a Jira Cloud Premium project?

Hello experts!

I have a requirement to setup a multi-level hierarchy for my project to structure something like this:

Level 1 -> Level 2 -> Level 3 -> Level 4 -> Level 5 -> Task

Level 1 -> Level 2 -> Level 3 -> Level 4 -> Task

Level 1 -> Level 2 -> Level 3 -> Task

Level 1 -> Level 2 -> Task

Level 1 -> Task

The above hierarchies represent possible links. Basically I need to create 5 custom hierarchy levels. Each level can either have level (N+1) OR a task as its child. A task will always be the last level.

I am using a premium license and creating company-managed projects. I would prefer not to use any plugins to support this since that does not align with my organization's plans at the moment.



1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Vishal Biyani
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
Oct 27, 2023 • edited

@Rajat Saxena 

As you are having premium license, you can define issuetypes and consider them at a level above epic.

So if you create say Initiative, you can get hierarchy like

Initiative -> Epic -> StandardIssueType (Task) -> subTaskIssueTypes

In the parent field of Epic, you will need to specify issue key for initiative and so on and so forth.

if you don't want sub-tasks to be created in your project instance, you can disable creation of subtasks.


All this needs JIRA admin privilege. 

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Site Admin
AUG Leaders

Atlassian Community Events