How can Jira automation rules be editable for project admin

Jira April 25, 2023

I have created a jira automation rule for a single project and have the admin access to that project I am able to edit the rule.

However when the rule is extended to another project where I am also an admin, I am unable to edit the rule.

To edit the rule to the scope as multiple projects jira administrator access is required.

Any suggestion why is the roles defined in such a way to not allow projects admin managing the rules and are any ways to edit the rules without Jira admin access?

4 answers

2 votes
Dave Mathijs
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 25, 2023

Hi @Jira 

Please check the following documentation article: Permissions required for Jira Cloud automation rules

1 vote
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 25, 2023

Hello @Jira 

When you say the "rule is extended to another project" do you mean that the Scope of the rule is changed to include multiple projects, like this?

Screen Shot 2023-04-25 at 1.25.31 AM.png

If so, then by adding multiple projects to the rule scope the rule has become a Global rule.

Global Rules can be edited only by Jira Administrators and only from the Global Automation screen.

Screen Shot 2023-04-25 at 1.28.33 AM.png

Multi-project scope rules can't be edited by the Project Administrators of the projects to which they are applied because it is just one rule, and any change made by one Project Admin would affect the rule for all specified projects.

Jira April 25, 2023

Hi @Trudy Claspill,