How can I see the progress of tasks on roadmap

Jade Arana September 20, 2021

I am trying to use the roadmap in the standard version and I can only set dates to the epics, but I need to have some start and due dates to the stories too. I can see the tasks/story under the epic, I have dates set inside each issue but I can't see a time line in the map. How can I see them?

4 answers

2 accepted

6 votes
Answer accepted
Rathesh Richards
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 20, 2021

Hi @jade Currently, story-level date-based planning is not supported. For Kanban, you won't be able to see the due dates for the stories on the roadmaps view. 
For a scrum board, the story's timeline will reflect the length of the sprint it has been assigned to (i.e. the sprint's start date and end date, and this cannot be customised on the roadmap view)

I'm a Product Manager on Roadmaps for Jira Software Cloud. We recognize that many customers are asking for this and we are looking into it for Kanban boards, but I can't share more with you just yet.

Out of interest, what are you trying to achieve by viewing the story-level dates on the roadmap within your team/organization? 

Jade Arana September 21, 2021

I want to use the epics as the projects for example Premium feature release. I have an overall date to release the whole feature but the stories would be the step I need to reach to get there, i.e. Hire X, write ux copy, do research x... so I can actually plan each project. Having only epics as possible to add start and end dates is a bit too simple and doesn't really allow us to really do roadmapping, just add some deadlines for projects.

Like # people like this
Erwin Sloboda November 11, 2021

i need this feature as well i grew to use it from the on´-prem version of jira portfolio

mjh@Lab November 15, 2021