How can I change the email addresses of all the Users in Jira

Mayuri Sathe February 1, 2021

My company wants to move to a different domain. Hence as a Jira Admin, I want to move all the Users, including myself to a different email id. 

Example: current email associated with Jira User is User@first-biz.com and I want to move it to User@second-biz.com. 

Is this possible? What steps do I need to take to get this done?

5 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Petter Gonçalves
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 25, 2021

Hello Everyone,

We see there is a big number of customers that are still facing many questions regarding bulk changing of Atlassian accounts, so we would like to provide a few concepts and options to properly achieve this goal:

In order to bulk change the email of the Atlassian accounts/users in your Atlassian site, you must first verify your domain to confirm you are the domain owner and the manager of all the accounts under that specific email domain. Once that's done, all the Atlassian accounts using that specific email domain are considered Managed accounts, so you can use the following APIs to bulk update those accounts:

• The Organizations API is available to list all the managed accounts in your organization. You can use this to enumerate the unique Atlassian account ID for each user.
  • The User management API is available to edit individual users. You can use this API to edit attributes for a given Atlassian account ID using the PATCH /users/ {account_id}/manage/profile method.

The types of changes you can make with those APIs include:

• Enabling/disabling the Atlassian account
  • Changing user email addresses or departments

For other bulk user management changes, we recommend using the User provisioning (SCIM) API to sync users and groups from an external system. The documentation for the SCIM API is also now available.