Due Date automations based on labels

Candice Gerard April 26, 2023

Two days in with no result to show, and feeling quite stupid. 

1 - I am using labels values of day counts -90 days to 45 days. 

2- I want to make a global automation for my projects that look for changes in due date on issues with a "0" value as a label. 

3- If there are changes to the due date to that item, I would like due dates for the rest of the project items to be updated with that due date MINUS the number value held in their own label.    For examples, I change the due date on my 0 items to 5/30/2023, all due dates of other non completed items with a labels value of 30 should change to 4/30/2023.  

Currently, I can get all the due dates to update to NULL. when triggered by my 0 item,,  which is not helpful.    Is anyone willing to help this total noob at Jira?  I would really appreciate it.  

1 answer

0 votes
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 26, 2023

Hi Candice - Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

First, can you share the rule that you have so far?

Next, why are you using a labels field and not just a number field for the numeric value? 

Candice Gerard May 4, 2023

John, Thanks for the thoughts.  I have added and deleted so many rules, trying to get the labels to work I didn't even THINK about adding a field.   I have done so now and I am still having challenges, and I believe they are just because I am a novice. 

My rule is when values change for due date in condition "Days before live" = 0

Then  a branch for "Days Before Live" !=  edit issue field, due date. 

{{issue.fields.duedate.plusDays(-issue.fields.customfield_10037.intValue())}}

I have also tried with {{issue.fields.duedate.plusDays(-issue.fields.customfield_10037)}}