Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in
Deleted user
0 / 0 points
Next:
badges earned

Your Points Tracker
Challenges
Leaderboard
  • Global
  • Feed

Badge for your thoughts?

You're enrolled in our new beta rewards program. Join our group to get the inside scoop and share your feedback.

Join group
Recognition
Give the gift of kudos
You have 0 kudos available to give
Who do you want to recognize?
Why do you want to recognize them?
Kudos
Great job appreciating your peers!
Check back soon to give more kudos.

Past Kudos Given
No kudos given
You haven't given any kudos yet. Share the love above and you'll see it here.

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Deactivate vs Disable vs Delete an Account

Can someone help me understand the difference between deactivating an account, disabling an account, and deleting an account? I want to know what effect each of these has on an account as well as how it affects billing and license count.

Thank you in advance.

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted

A lot of people use de-activate and disabling an account interchangably.  The basic idea is that there is a flag on the account that says "this account is inactive".

Disabling/Deactivating an account

  • Means it can no longer log in
  • Means it does not count towards your licence
  • It can not be selected as new data in some places (you can't reassign issues to disabled users), but does not remove any existing usage of the account

Deleting an account

  • Means it can no longer log in
  • Means it does not count towards your licence
  • Destroys all the data that the account has been used anywhere.  Something you should avoid, because you're going to need to re-assign all issues it is assigned to, change the reporter and accept that a load of your reporting is going to break when it refers to a deleted account.
1 vote
Brant Schroeder Community Leader Sep 23, 2020

Organization admins can delete or deactivate accounts they manage for users who no longer need to use Atlassian account services. When their accounts are deleted or deactivated, users immediately lose access to Jira Cloud and all other Atlassian account services, and we’ll stop billing for their account.

If an organization admin deactivates a user’s account, the user’s personal data will remain in Atlassian account services, and the admin can reactivate their account at any time.

If an organization admin deletes a user’s account, we’ll delete the user’s personal data from Atlassian account services, and no one will be able to reactivate their account.

An organization admin can delete a previously deactivated account if they decide to later.

https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiracloud/deactivate-or-delete-managed-accounts-962965079.html

Bear in mind that Organisation admins can only delete Atlassian accounts that are explicitly managed by them.  If you are looking at a personal Atlassian account or one managed by another organisation, you can only disable them in your system, you can't edit, deactivate or delete.

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
DEPLOYMENT TYPE
CLOUD
PRODUCT PLAN
STANDARD
PERMISSIONS LEVEL
Site Admin
TAGS
Community showcase
Published in Jira Service Management

JSM June Challenge #2: Share how your business teams became ITSM rockstars

For JSM June Challenge #2, share how your non-technical teams like HR, legal, marketing, finance, and beyond started using Jira Service Management! Tell us: Did they ask to start using it or...

326 views 9 7
Read article

Community Events

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find an event

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Unfortunately there are no Community Events near you at the moment.

Host an event

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local event. Learn more about Community Events

Events near you