Create new board -> Board from an existing project - Only a few projects show up

André Johnsson February 26, 2020

Hi,

I'm trying to create a new kanban board for an existing project but when I get to the project picker there are only about 20 projects available, out of north of 200 total projects. I googled a bit and I saw an answer that said it might have to do with permissions, but I'm completely new to Jira and can't find any permission settings that might be related to this. I am a system admin (with some restrictions), and I have set myself up as a project admin for the specific project I want to create the kanban board for. Does anyone have any ideas what permission might be stopping the project from showing up, or does anyone have any other idea what might be causing this?

Regards,

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Pete Singleton
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 26, 2020

The only permission you should need on the project is the "Browse Issues" permission.  Check the project's permission scheme to see if your role(s) have been granted that permission.

Can you see the project in the Projects -> View All Projects menu?  (Note this is not the Admin view of projects, just the standard one).

André Johnsson February 27, 2020

Hi Pete,

I can see the project in the Projects -> View All Projects menu.

If I look through the Default Permission Scheme there are a few projects in that list that shows up in the project picker, but the majority of them don't.

But it doesn't seem like my project is associated with a permission scheme. When I view all the permission schemes and their associated projects I can not find my project anywhere in the list. Is it possible to have a project that isn't associated with a permission scheme?

Like Mark Johnson likes this
Pete Singleton